Head of the Scientific Avisory board and Deputy Chairmwoman of the Board

Prof. Dr. Sandra Rochnowski

Prof. Sandra Rochnowski, MBA, is a travel agent and business economist with over 15 years of experience in tourism and applied science. After studying business administration with a specialization in tourism, Prof. Rochnowski gained experience as head of marketing in health tourism at METTNAU, medical rehabilitation facilities of the city of Radolfzell. In Austria Prof. Rochnowski worked as Marketing Manager in the Head Office of Vienna International Hotels (today Vienna House) and Interim as Director of Sales & Marketing with project management in various properties. In 2010 she joined TUI Hotels & Resorts, the brands Iberotel & Dorfhotel, as Head of Marketing & Sales for Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and was also responsible for destination marketing for Land Fleesensee and Weiße Wiek. While working, she completed an MBA Tourism & Hospitaltiy at the Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences and the ESERP Business School Barcelona. She wrote her master’s thesis in collaboration with TUI Hotels & Resort of the Iberotel brand on the subject of climate neutrality in the hotel industry.

In 2013 Prof. Rochnowski moved to the Heilbronn University of Applied Sciences where she worked as a research assistant in the tourism industry department. Among other things, she taught the main subject “Sustainable Tourism” or “Health Tourism” and initiated and moderated the first Sustainability Symposium in 2016 with business and science representatives. She wrote her dissertation on “Health management as a personal resource of lifestyle modification – an empirical consideration of health-promoting measures and nudges and their potential for managers in inpatient settings in Germany” (“magna cum laude”, Leuphana University Lüneburg).

In October 2018, Ms. Rochnowski accepted the appointment as Professor of Tourism with a focus on Hotel Management at SRH Berlin University of Applied Sciences, Dresden School of Management. In October 2019 she moved to the Berlin State University of Economics and Law, HWR, as Professor of General Business Administration, especially Tourism Business Administration. The HWR is one of the UAS7, the strategic alliance of seven leading universities of applied sciences in Germany, committed to the highest quality standards in teaching and research. The aim of their practice-oriented teaching is to enable students to develop a sustainable understanding of values and to establish networks with the hotel and tourism industry at an early stage through cooperative projects. Prof. Rochnowski is committed to the voluntary transfer of knowledge and the promotion of sustainable management for training occupations in the hospitality industry.

Prof. Rochnowski is an expert in the field of management systems sustainability (EMAS/ISO 14001, environmental auditor ISO 19011) and quality (ISO 9001, quality representative, auditor, additional qualification: occupational and social medicine) at company and scientific level. She developed GreenSign (specific management system for the hotel industry) or GreenSpoon (guideline based on the 17 UN sustainability line for sustainable management in gastronomy).

In 2018 she and Yvonne Jamal founded the JARO Institute for Sustainability and Digitisation e.V. Prof Rochnowski is scientific director, head of the scientific advisory board and advises tourism players and companies, especially in matters of sustainability.

Her research focuses on occupational health management, nudging and sustainability/sustainable tourism. She is also active as an author and speaker.

Leiterin des wissenschaftlichen Beirats (in Gründung) und Stv. Vorstandsvorsitzende

Prof. Dr. Sandra Rochnowski

 

Prof. Sandra Rochnowski, MBA, ist Reiseverkehrskauffrau und Betriebswirtin mit über 15 Jahren Erfahrung im Tourismus und der angewandten Wissenschaft. Nach ihrem Studium der Betriebswirtschaft mit Vertiefung Tourismuswirtschaft sammelte Prof. Rochnowski bei der METTNAU, Med. Reha-Einrichtungen der Stadt Radolfzell Erfahrung als Leitung Marketing im Gesundheitstourismus. In Österreich war Prof. Rochnowski als Marketing Manager im Head Office von Vienna International Hotels (heute Vienna House) tätig sowie Interim als Director of Sales & Marketing mit Projektleitung in verschiedenen Properties tätig. 2010 begann sie für die TUI Hotels & Resorts, der Marken Iberotel & Dorfhotel, als Leitung Marketing & Vertrieb für Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und war zudem für das Destinationsmarketing Land Fleesensee und Weiße Wiek mit verantwortlich. Berufsbegleitend absolvierte sie einen MBA Tourism & Hospitaltiy an der Hochschule Schmalkalden und der ESERP Business School Barcelona. Ihre Masterthesis fertigte sie in Zusammenarbeit mit den TUI Hotels & Resort der Marke Iberotel zum Thema der Klimaneutralität in der Hotellerie an.

2013 wechselte Prof. Rochnowski an die Hochschule Heilbronn und war dort als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Abteilung Tourismuswirtschaft tätigt. Sie unterrichtete u.a. das Schwerpunktfach „Nachhaltiger Tourismus“ oder „Gesundheitstourismus“ und initiiert und moderierte 2016 das erste Sustainability Symposium mit Wirtschafts- und Wissenschaftsvertretern. Ihre Dissertation schrieb sie zum Thema „Gesundheitsmanagement als personale Ressource der Lebensstilmodifikation – Ein empirische Betrachtung gesundheitsfördernder Maßnahmen und Nudges sowie deren Potentiale für Führungskräfte im stationären Setting in Deutschland“ („magna cum laude“, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg).

Seit 2018 ist Sandra Rochnowski Professorin für Tourismus mit Schwerpunkt Hotelmanagement an der SRH Hochschule Berlin, Campus Dresden. Ziel ihrer praxisnahen Lehre ist es, Studierende zu befähigen, ein nachhaltiges Werteverständnis zu entwickeln und durch kooperative Projekte frühzeitig Netzwerke mit der Hotel- und Tourismusindustrie zu erlangen. Prof. Rochnowski engagiert sich ehrenamtlich für die Wissensvermittlung und Förderung von nachhaltigem Wirtschaften für Ausbildungsberufe im Gastgewerbe.

Prof. Rochnowski ist Expertin auf dem Gebiet der Managementsysteme Nachhaltigkeit (EMAS/ISO 14001, Umweltauditor ISO 19011) und Qualität (ISO 9001, Qualitätsbeauftragte, Auditor, Zusatzqualifikation: Arbeits- und Sozialmedizin) auf Unternehmens- und Wissenschaftsebene. Sie entwickelte u.a. GreenSign (spezifisches Managementsystem für die Hotellerie) oder GreenSpoon (Leitfaden angelehnt an die 17 UN-Nachhaltigkeitszeile für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften in der Gastronomie.

2018 gründete Sie mit Yvonne Jamal das JARO Institut für Nachhaltigkeit und Digitalisierung e.V. Prof Rochnowski ist wissenschaftliche Leitung, Leiterin des wissenschaftlichen Beirats und berät touristische Akteure und Unternehmen, insbesondere in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit.

Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen das Betriebliche Gesundheitsmanagement, Nudging und Nachhaltigkeit/Nachhaltiger Tourismus. Sie ist zudem als Autorin und Referentin tätig.